Awards - Annual Report 2018

News & events

Awards - Annual Report 2018

8 April, 2019

Maan Alkaisi

College of Engineering Established Researcher Award – University of Canterbury Christchurch City Civic Award for Public Advocacy and Community Services

Margaret Brimble

Appointed by Her Majesty the Queen as Dame Companion of NZ Order of Merit (DNZM) for Service to Science
Elected Fellow of The Royal Society (FRS) – first female New Zealander elected to the Royal Society

Royal Society of Chemistry George & Christine Sosnovsky Award in Cancer Therapy Named as one of 125 New Zealand women trailblazers to commemorate 125 years Women’s Suffrage in New Zealand

Matthew Cowan

‘Silver’ on the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC) periodic table of young chemists

Laura Domigan

University of Auckland School of Biological Sciences Early Career Research Award

Carla Meledandri

Prime Minister’s MacDiarmid Emerging Scientist Prize for 2017 (awarded 2018)

Jim Metson

The Minerals, Metals & Materials Society (TMS) Light Metals Subject Award – Aluminium Reduction Technology

Michel Nieuwoudt

1st place: Innovative idea pitch, Innovation School, Optical Society of America, Washington DC

Jadranka Travas-Sejdic

New Zealand Association of Scientists (NZAS) Shorland Medal

Charles Unsworth

Awarded a Visiting Professorship at Tampere University, Finland

Geoff Waterhouse

Fellowship of the New Zealand Institute of Chemistry
Chair Professorship at the South China University of Technology
Visiting Fellowship under the Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS) President’s International Fellowship Initiative

Frederick Wells

University of Auckland Postdoctoral Society Symposium Prize