Awards » The MacDiarmid Institute

About us


Our investigators are continually recognised for excellence nationally and internationally and this reflected in the number and breadth of awards they receive. The awards number is increasing each year as our research and innovations make greater impacts outside of the lab.

Our investigators are an inspiration.

Awards 2018

Name Award
Maan Alkaisi

College of Engineering Established Researcher Award – University of Canterbury

Christchurch City Civic Award for Public Advocacy and Community Services

Margaret Brimble

Appointed by Her Majesty the Queen as Dame Companion of NZ Order of Merit (DNZM) for Service to Science

Elected Fellow of The Royal Society (FRS) – first female New Zealander Royal Society

Royal Society of Chemistry George & Christine Sosnovsky Award in Cancer Therapy

Named as one of 125 kiwi women trailblazers to commemorate 125 years Women's Suffrage in New Zealand

Penny Brothers Appointed as Director of the Research School of Chemistry. Australian National University
Phillip Brydon American Physical Society Outstanding Referee
Chris Bumby SUST highlight paper (Top 40 paper published in Supercond. Sci. Technol)
Matthew Cowan 'Silver' on the IUPAC periodic table of young chemists
Laura Domigan University of Auckland School of Biological Sciences Early Career Research Award
Vladimir Golovko Poster presentation award, The 6th Thailand International Nanotechnology Conference
Shaun Hendy Callaghan Innovation Board Member Appointment
Jim Metson TMS light Metals Subject Award – Aluminium Reduction Technology
Michel Nieuwoudt 1st place: Innovative idea pitch, Innovation School, Optical Society of America, Washington DC
Emilia Nowak ACIS Awards, bursary to attend The 9th Biennial Australian Colloid and Interface Symposium
Tilo Söhnel

Australian Synchrotron beamtime award x2

Australian Centre for Neutron Scattering, ANSTO, beamtime award x4

Jadranka Travas-Sejdic Shorland Medal
Charles Unsworth

IEEE EMBS Technical Committee Member on Neural Engineering (TCNE)

Awarded a Visiting Professorship at Tampere University, Finland

Geoff Waterhouse

Fellowship of the New Zealand Institute of Chemistry

Chair Professorship at the South China University of Technology

Visiting Fellowship under the CAS President’s International Fellowship Initiative

Steven Wells

Litmaps User Testing Prize

UoA Postdoc Society Symposium Prize